Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Achievement, Across, AdvantageThe soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied ~Proverbs 13:4

I was listening to a talk the other day (Marie Forleo) and the words the speaker spoke caused a dramatic shift for me. They were as follows: How would you behave if you were the very best in the world at what you do? What time would you get up? What would you eat?

Two things stirred within me. One, I’ve been a little lax about my workout commitment. I’ve been working out on my husband’s schedule, which he prefers evenings. By the end of the day, some days, most days, I’m tired. So I skip it. A lot. If I manage to do it, I’m watching the minutes on the treadmill, bored to death, my heart pounding…screaming for it to be over. I realized I have more energy in the mornings. Sayonara hubby! I’ve been getting up early and getting it in while I still have the energy to do so. And I love it. Right after I exercise, I go right into a little yoga and follow it with meditation. My mornings have been a lot smoother thus far.

The second thing that came to mind was eating for performance. For the past several years I’ve been a pretty healthy eater, not super strict; as I believe life is to be enjoyed, but I’ve always been mindful of things I put into and on my body in order to maintain my health. But, up until I heard those words, I never really seriously considered tying what I ate to my performance. I’d thought about it, but I’d never really thought about it. Why not eat for both health and performance? Why not eat for more energy, better sleep? Why not make sure that every single thing we put into our body serves a purpose. Even a cookie.

By the way, here’s a bonus recipe for an easy healthy oatmeal cookie:

1 1/4 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup natural peanut butter

3/4 cup rapidura sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup gluten free baking mix (I use Arrowhead Mills)

1 egg

Cream peanut butter, sugar. Add in egg. Add in oats, flour and baking soda. Bake 15-20. Viola.

Feel free to add in Chia, hemp or flax seeds, honey or maple syrup, protein powder, shredded carrot or apple etc, or substitute the peanut butter for almond butter or reduce the sugar…anything that will add health benefits. Play around with the recipe until you find one you like. Enjoy!

What? You thought I’d go cold turkey? Not a chance. Life’s too short to not enjoy good food. Plus, these provide healthy fats, minerals and fiber. All things in moderation.

If you’ve followed the blog or go back through the archives, you will see that I’m typically off again on again with some things, especially working out. It’s my personality…as an artist and creative, discipline is sometimes not a strong suit. But I’m finding that as I commit more to my purpose…to my self…to wanting to fulfill the grandest vision possible for my life, it’s getting easier to commit to things that will help serve that process. I want everything God has for me and I now realize it takes dedication and discipline to claim the prize. I’m in.

To Your Journey,

Tonya

Tonya Lampley is a fiction author and Certified Life Coach. She writes about life, love and the journey and blogs on topics for living a successful life. Her debut novel was titled A Taste of Love and was a 2012 NIEA finalist. Her second book is titled Indiscretion, her third book is titled Dirty. All books are available on Amazon. For more information about Tonya and her works please visit www.TonyaLampley.com.

