Yes, Black Women Adopt

What is it? What does it look like? How much does it cost? Is it hard? Did you need an attorney? Do I have to adopt from Ethiopia?  Can I pick what I want? Didn’t you want to have your own baby? Why didn’t you work with the state? I want to adopt, too. What do you think?  Adoption Image

These are just a few of the questions I heard once folks knew that I planned to adopt. It was obvious that most black folks, specifically black women, were as in the dark as me regarding private adoption. When I began thinking about adoption I initially thought I would work through the state of Georgia to complete the process. I had previous experience with adoption and foster care as a child protective services worker and felt I knew the ins and outs. It made sense to follow this route. I signed…

View original post 501 more words

