Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Aggression, Hatred, Meanness, Violent, AttackThe internet and social media have become a breeding ground for trolls—people who pick on and attack others for no reason. They aren’t helping to advance a cause or furthering good constructive debate, they’re just being plain ole’ evil.

It’s easy to fall into the trap of downgrading another. We think it’s harmless…free speech, right? But there’s a dirty little secret behind that tactic. What people fail to realize is that there is more to it than a voicing of opinion. There’s a little trick that the mind can play that goes something like this…The moment I can put you down, it gives my ego a boost. In other words, if I can make you lower than me, it makes me feel better about who I am. And if I can do it with an audience, all the better. It gives a false sense of esteem–a smoke and mirror effect. The truth of the matter is that no one is any better than anyone else. Diverse maybe, but not better. Our failure to realize that violates the spiritual principle of Oneness. It is in people’s lack of understanding that they miss out on the beauty of this principle: As I love others, it is returned to me ten-fold. As I harm, it will be returned to me as well.

Real self-esteem comes from within. It is in knowing how great “I” am, but also in knowing how great “you” are. Abundance, health and prosperity lie in knowing the value and worth of myself, as well as my brother, and having respect for all of God’s creation. It is in knowing that all of us are interconnected and that we each have an important role to play in the larger part of humanity. In essence, we need the others. If people understood that, they would do everything they could to help build up God’s magnificent creation instead of tearing it down. And a reward they would surely reap.

As for the trolls…don’t give them anything to feed on. Instead choose love. It’s a much more powerful energy than hate.

To Your Journey,

Tonya

Tonya Lampley is a fiction author and Certified Life Coach. She writes stories about life, love and the journey and blogs on topics for living a successful life. Her debut novel was titled A Taste of Love and was a 2012 NIEA finalist. Her second book is titled Indiscretion. Both books are available on Amazon. For more information about Tonya and her works please visit www.TonyaLampley.com. Free short story available here!

