Tags

, , , ,

Okay, not really. I’m not a chicken little kind of person. I tend to be optimistic about things, believing that the magnificent universe has a way of correcting itself. And history has proved that. But…

chick-37238__180 I can’t help but wonder, when I see a headline about the drug epidemic or a commercial about cancer, as advanced as our society currently is, why don’t we have solutions to these problems?

Our generation has been blessed with the greatest minds in history. In the past 10 years, we’ve become a completely different society due to advances in technology and I’m extremely grateful to be a part of this generation. A lot of the brain power of the greatest minds is focused in the tech arena. I get it, that’s their passion, and they get to choose where to use their gift, but I wonder sometimes, what would happen if they gave a little bit of their “off-time” to solving some of society’s current ills? Could we get them in a room with a white board and place before them some of the issues that make life difficult for the common man and ask them to try to solve it? I’m thinking they could come up with a solution or lay the groundwork for solutions pretty fast. Instead, they’re solving problems like…how to get the phone to be a little smaller than a matchbook. We have much bigger fish to fry. Billions of dollars being paid out to identity thieves who are filing fraudulent tax returns. Cancer at an all time high. Heroin on the verge of becoming a national crises—police force overwhelmed. These problems need genius level solutions.

I believe eventually, we’ll get there. And I know this is all part of a glorious, expanding universe. But I care less about a 3-D dancing cat in my living room or packages that fall from the sky, and more about a loved one staying healthy into their golden years, children who are safe at school, food that is safe to eat, and sleeping in my bed at night knowing that all is well. Ladies and gentleman, we can rebuild it…we have the technology…

To Your Journey,

Tonya

Tonya Lampley is a fiction author writing on life, love and the journey. Her debut novel was titled A Taste of Love and was a 2012 NIEA finalist. Her second book is titled Indiscretion. Both books are available on Amazon. For more information about Tonya and her works please visit www.TonyaLampley.com

