Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The question is…

How bad do you really want it?

I get asked the question, sometimes, how do you follow such a healthy diet? I’ve gone to a restaurant with friends and not eaten or eaten a plain salad or just had tea. More times than not, I simply eat before I go. I can serve cheesecake to guests in my home and not partake. People will ask me, How do you have the discipline to do that?

My answer is this: You have to find your internal motivator. Uncovering what it is that you truly desire and tying that to the goal makes all the difference. Think about what you really want and why you want it. What will drive you to make the sacrifice? Find the motivator any way you can. For example:

Several years ago, I got really sick. It was during that time that I followed a strict diet in order to heal my body and return to health. I made the decision that I never wanted to feel that way again–like I had no control over my body. That’s enough to keep me on the straight and narrow. Why? Because I hate being sick, even with a cold. In essence I found my motivator—I deplore being sick so much that I’m willing to make the sacrifice. It helps me say no to cake, pies, soda etc. Someone else might be motivated to watch their diet for appearance reasons. That was never enough of a motivator for me, but being well and feeling my best is. You have to find the key that starts the engine for you.

Quitting smoking because it could lead to lung cancer one day might not be enough of a motivator, but that brand new grandbaby might inspire you to want to be healthy and active well into your golden years. You’ve now tied the goal to the heartfelt desire. Now you have the motivation to achieve the goal.

Same thing goes with money. It’s not enough to want it, we all do. You have to have a strong desire to have it. What’s your motivator? To save enough money for your child to go to the best college? To care for aging parents? To travel the world? A new house? Car? Once your desire is ignited, it will become easier to say no to purchasing things you don’t need or to commit to growing your savings account; perhaps even pursue a better paying job.

When you can connect your desire to the goal, whatever it is, it becomes a great motivator. And when you have motive, it’s easier to stay focused. Think about what it is you want and why you want it and let the burning desire to see the wish fulfilled fuel you.

To Your Journey,

Tonya

Tonya Lampley is a fiction author and Certified Life Coach. She writes about life, love and the journey and blogs on topics for living a successful life. Her debut novel was titled A Taste of Love and was a 2012 NIEA finalist. Her second book is titled Indiscretion. Both books are available on Amazon. For more information about Tonya and her works please visit www.TonyaLampley.com.

