Tags

, , , , , , , ,

That’s what I’m after. I’ve been slowly moving up the positivity scale. I’ve seen the difference positivity has made in people’s lives and recently, my own. People who live in the flow of life…in the magic, if you will, are extremely positive people for the most part. Take a look around and see for yourself.

I was walking at the park yesterday and it hit me. You’re going to have to be radical about being positive. Not just be a positive person, but make it a priority. A way of life. See…the trick for me has been that I have a mind that analyzes everything. It scans the environment looking for opportunities as well as pitfalls. It really comes in handy when I’m coaching someone. I can see opportunities and challenges most people can’t readily identify. Very beneficial if someone comes to me seeking guidance on starting a business, very helpful when casting vision on a particular project or venture. Very helpful in planning…generally.

But in everyday life, that skill of mine has the potential to turn and bite me in the rear if I’m not careful. That voice has a tendency to point out everything that can go wrong. It takes effort to see all the opportunities first and then bring that skill in on the tail end. Thankfully, I’ve learned to tame it, but it’s still there. A small example…

As I neared the end of my walk yesterday, my path was blocked by around 30 large geese. I heard the analytical voice say “What month is this? If they have babies nearby, they might attack.” I smiled to myself and gently pushed the voice aside. Your services aren’t needed at the moment, I told it. I’m officially practicing radical positivity. I’m going to assume that the best outcome is always available to me unless there is reason to assume otherwise. I admired the beauty of the geese, especially the one fat one that was sitting on the concrete that I’m sure was warm from the sun. That must feel so good, I thought. And suddenly, they parted just enough for me to continue walking through. I bid them good day and continued on my path.

I’ve discovered that life’s little nuisances tend to take care of themselves. It’s silly to waste precious energy on them? I’m going to remain radically positive, knowing that if I do, things will generally work out.

So, as I sit here hungry, with tender spots in my mouth trying to adjust to these @#%^*! Invisalign braces, I just keep telling myself. Be radically positive, Tonya. Be radically positive.

 

To Your Journey,

Tonya

Tonya Lampley is a fiction author. She writes about life, love and the journey. Her debut novel was titled A Taste of Love and was a 2012 NIEA finalist. Her second book is titled Indiscretion and is currently available on Amazon. For more information about Tonya and her works please visit http://www.TonyaLampley.com.

 

 

