Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I arrived at the park today to take a walk. I do this as often as I can, not only for my physical health, but for my mental health as well. I find walking meditative…relaxing….a way to escape from life’s daily stressors. But I noticed something as I walked along. I had on my mp3 player, earphones were in—but my mind was racing a thousand miles a minute. I couldn’t even focus on what was playing. I kept trying, but some random thought would steal my mind’s attention, again.

Finally, I had to take the earphones off, and do deep breathing exercises to quiet my mind. I walked along while breathing in and out slowly. After a few minutes, my focus returned.

Afterwards, I was reminded of the beauty of presence. Of being completely captured by the moment we’re in. Our mind can rush off to the future creating thoughts of worry or race back to the past creating feelings of regret. At the very least the little gremlins can drown out our own inner voice.

The next time you find your mind racing, remember to stop and gather yourself. A hurried mental state robs us of so many things. It can be the source of accidents as well as missed opportunities. Perhaps that gentleman was just the person you needed in order to launch your project, but you missed the conversation he was having with someone, because your mind was somewhere else—outside of the present moment. Perhaps you cut your finger while chopping vegetables because you were focused on a conversation you had with someone the other day instead of being immersed in the moment.

A baby smiling as they sit in a mother’s cart when you reach for a carton of milk. A bird with an array of colors you’ve never seen before. A sunset. These moments can bring us great joy and peace if we will allow ourselves the pleasure of being fully immersed in the moment so that we can take them in. It’s easy to blur through everything if we’re not paying attention.

There is power in the present moment. There is peace in the now. Leverage it for your gain. After all, it really is the only moment we ever truly have.

To Your Journey,

Tonya

Tonya Lampley is a Cincinnati based fiction author. Her debut novel is titled A Taste of Love and is available at Barnes and Noble, Joseph Beth Booksellers and Amazon.com. To learn more about Tonya and her works, please visit www.TonyaLampley.com

