I spent the weekend surrounded by friends and family. Initially it was nothing out of the ordinary but somewhere in the middle of all that love, I was reminded of what life is really about. I had been so busy ‘doing’ the past several weeks I had begun to lose my focus.
 
It’s so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of life. The rushing hither to thither and beyond. The job, the responsibilities, the bills. It’s so easy to forget the really important things in life– like spending time with ones you love. My weekend started with dinner and a Boney James jazz concert with friends. In the middle of the concert I was reminded of the truly important things in life. As I listened to the saxphonist play every note with precision and I allowed myself to surrender to the moment and just be with the music, and as I looked to the left and right and saw my husband and closest friends, I was overcome with a profound sense of joy and appreciation. I began to thank God for reminding me that this is what life is really about.  The moments of joy, the delight of the senses, the love of friends. The small things make up the sweeter side of life. The things that are so easy to blow through without consciousness and without presence are truly the most important.
 
The weekend wrapped up at my parents house. The house was full and my brother had even invited someone I hadn’t seen in many many years. That was the whipped cream on the ‘Sunday.’ I came home exhausted but elated and vowing to not allow life’s pace to let me take the sweeter things for granted. The love of friends, a sunset, the perfection in a spider’s webb. These are truly the things that make life sweet and my continued focus on their presence daily reminds me that I am truly blessed.
 
To your journey,
 
Tonya
 

Tonya Lampley is a Cincinnati based author.  Her debut novel A Taste of Love is now available at Barnes and Noble and Amazon.com. For more information about Tonya and her works, please visit http://www.tonyalampley.com.

