I hate to exercise. Absolutely dread it. The only exception is walking. It is my drug of choice. I can put an mp3 player on and walk into oblivion. Walking is meditative for me. I can clear my mind or talk to God. I have friends who spin, do aerobics, step class, etc., and I might do a yoga pose here and there, but the rest of that stuff is not for me.

 

Imagine my dismay when I looked in the mirror the other day and noticed that despite my walking efforts, I look a little, shall I say… flabby.  I went to my husband who is a confessed gym rat to complain and he said…”It’s because you don’t do any weight training.” 

 

Come again?   Me?  Weight train?  Been there.  Done that.  Hated it. He continued speaking through my blank stare…”It’s the only way to get the results you want.”

 

Bluck.  I followed him downstairs to his contraption, anyway–that thing in the corner of the basement that I had dusted on occasion but never considered using.  It looked like a mini torture chamber.  He told me to lay on my stomach on the machine and hook my legs under this bar and raise my legs.  I screamed. Felt like my knee caps were about to snap off.  I rolled off the thing and he told me to sit upright and try to do a different kind of exercise.  My knee caps stayed on, but I could only do about three.  I think they were leg extensions.

 

“You’re really out of shape,” he chuckled as he grabbed a pencil and paper and jotted down some things and handed it to me.  It was like a doctor writing a prescription.  When I looked at what he had written down, it was a sequence of squats, leg and toe lifts, and a few other things.

 

Oh well, I shrugged as he walked away. I have to start somewhere.  He assured me that after a few months of doing those exercises, I’d be strong enough to try the contraption again. 

Maybe I will, maybe I won’t.  I kinda’ like the fact that I can do toe lifts as I’m washing dishes and leg raises work nicely in front of the T.V.  Maybe this is something I can stick to.  We’ll see.

 

Tonya Lampley is a Cincinnati based author.  Her debut novel A Taste of Love is available at Barnes and Noble and other retailers. The ebook version of the story is titled Three Hundred and Sixty Degrees and is available at Red Rose Publishing.
For more information about Tonya and her works, please visit
http://www.tonyalampley.com.
Blogging at
http://www.tonyalampley.spaces.live.com

 

 

