As we create our story, it is important that we maintain good health.  How can we reach our full potential if our energy is low, or we are not sleeping well, or maybe a current illness is capturing our attention? 

I have been on a journey to better health for a while now.  A few years ago, I got sick and although it was nothing serious, I was out of commission for several months.  I was forced to change my eating habits and although I’m not where I would like to be (I still crave carbs–If I see a bag of chips, within minutes my hand will be in the bag), I’ve come a long way.  I have learned to eat the elephant one bite at a time.  Here are some things that I have done that have really made a difference.

A good whole foods based multivitamin.

I also try to maintain an alkaline pH.  An alkaline pH helps with energy, prevention of colds, among other things and many believe it can prevent more serious disorders.  It has worked a miracle on my heartburn.  The best way to alkalize is to eat more fruits and vegetables.  You can take supplements but adding more fruits and vegetables is the best way.  I found this quick and dirty description on the importance of alkalizing http://www.energiseforlife.com/wordpress/0808/what-is-acidosis-the-problem-of-an-acidic-lifestyle.

I try to juice when I can and every day I take green grasses, i.e. spirulina, or wheat or barley grasses.  They come in powdered form and can be added to fruit juice and if you’re brave enough, water.  Great in the afternoon, when energy levels are waning or before a workout.  They offer quick, healthy energy.

Fish oil- A good source of Omega 3 fatty acids.  Very good for cognition. Also good for anxiety and depression, as well as fluctuating hormone levels. 

Finally, I have added magnesium to my diet.  I take a supplement, but there are several foods that contain this mineral.   Research is showing that deficiencies of this mineral are on the rise. It is very important to the human body and one you don’t want to get to low.  I learned this the hard way.  Here is more info http://health.families.com/blog/how-to-get-more-magnesium-in-your-diet

I hope some of this information benefits you.  It has really made a difference in my life.  Now if only I can learn to love weight training……

Enjoy the rest of your week!

